Updated on March 25, 2020

Dear Community Member,

As you know, out of an abundance of caution we closed Civic Hall on Friday, March 13. We have reassessed the COVID-19 situation this week and determined that we can’t re-open our space on March 30, as we’d previously aspired. 

Given both the state of the pandemic and Governor Cuomo’s order that all non-essential workforce stay home, our space needs to remain closed until we receive a government directive that non-essential businesses can safely re-open. There is no way to predict what that timeline will be, but it is safe to assume that we will remain closed until the end of May, if not later. 

Our team is continuing to work remotely on projects such as the Civic Tech Field Guide, Civicist, and First Post, and we’re planning to increase online event offerings now that it is clear it will be some time before we can gather again in person. 

We so appreciate your ongoing support of Civic Hall and your participation in our community. For individual members who pay monthly, if it is within your budget to continue your membership with us while we are closed, it will go a long way to supporting our continued operations. We understand, though, that these are financially trying times for everyone, so if you need to downgrade your membership or pause your membership for now, we are here to help. Please email us at community@civichall.org and we’ll be in touch to support whatever changes you need to make. 

Thanks again, and stay safe.

The Team at Civic Hall


You can find our collaborative workspace at:

118 West 22nd Street, 12th Floor
New York, NY 10011
Hours: Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Our workspace is closed on the following days in 2020:

Wednesday, Jan 1: New Year’s Day
Monday, Jan 20: Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, Feb 17: Presidents’ Day
Monday, May 25: Memorial Day
Friday, Jul 3: Independence Day (day before, we close at 5pm) 
Monday, Sep 7: Labor Day
Monday, Oct 12: Indigenous People’s Day (Columbus Day)
Wednesday, Nov 11: Veteran’s Day
Thursday, Nov 26: Thanksgiving Day (day before, we close at 5pm)
Friday, Nov 27: Day after Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, Dec 24 (day before, we close at 5pm)–Friday, Dec 31

If you’re looking to host an event at Civic Hall, please complete our booking request form.

Have other questions about Civic Hall? Or have feedback to offer us? Please fill out the form below and we will get back to you as soon as possible.  

Contact Us